Skip to content

Thanks to everyone who visited my stall at the weekend.

May 13, 2009

Wow, what a frantic two weeks trying to get ready for Art in the Park in downtown Redlands last weekend. I made 7 new raggy flannel baby quilts the first week and Janet again kindly snipped them. I was then commissioned to make a larger than normal baby quilt over the weekend and handed over on Tuesday leaving me 4 days to make extra button jewelry.

My advice is don’t go replacement van/car hunting the day before a show, even if you do end up with a pretty coloured 03 Odyssey with just under 60,000 miles on the clock. Almost 4 hours later we left the the dealership to collect the boys from marching band. It was so frustrating because precious time ticked by and I had nothing to knit, sew or complete with me.

Still, I made the park by 6.45 am and was set up in time for a fun two days. It was with trepidation that I agreed to do this show because last year the temperature was well above 100 degrees and everyone was miserable in the heat.

This year the weather was kind to us in the low to mid 80s –  just ideal.

It was great to see everyone who stopped by the stall. Not the most flattering of photos but I appreciate Candy taking the photos and my son Will for making a sign for me. I just loved the Arts and craft font he used.

Art in the Park S 09 001

Yes you can see the yellow scrap baby quilt… I was thrilled with the way it turned out and will post a photo another day. A delightful little girl fell in love with one of my pink quilts and went home happily carrying her bag.

Art in the Park S 09 002

I was pleased with the expanded range of button jewelry: vintage and modern shell button pendants, with a few pairs of vintage button shell earrings. Button bracelets: shell buttons, “smarties”, daisy buttons and a black one, with matching earrings and a stacked button pendant. The beaded knitted bracelets were there as well. Not to mention a few pendants with glass beads crocheted in the “chain.”  IMG00939 These little button “hair grips” or barrettes  as they are called over here turned out well.

So now I can reclaim my house, put away the flannel for a while. Focus on the boys and their last month of school, start to think of new ideas for those buttons, start planning raggy Christmas wall hangings and oh…. there is a closing date this Friday for another book competition. Guess I’ll be burning the midnight oil again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

