Skip to content

Magic!

June 22, 2009

Recently I dyed 3 baby sleeping suits with Candy. It never ceases to amaze me that that she can look at her dyed colour swatches and say well if I do this you’ll get that colour and guess what I do! I guess I’m not patient or meticulous enough to create such a fabulous swatch chart and work out the plus and minus effects either. Anyhow it was a pleasure to create these wonderful colours on one of our cooler June days.

IMG_0884

I’m sorry the light wasn’t good enough because this was pink not orangey pink. But this was a double swirl pattern. I folded the suit diagonally across from the shoulder to the diagonally opposite bottom and then swirled. Packed it neatly into a pot and then poured one shade of pink over it and this was the result.

IMG_0883

This was a single swirl with the same pink top but a more purple pink bottom.

IMG_0885

Then I did booties to match.

On Earth Day our local “Fresh and Easy” (Tesco for the Brits reading) kindly gave away a lovely unbleached cotton bag. It looked great in its natural colour but I knew that would soon change on my shopping trips so I thought it would be fun to try a textured look (I just scrunched up the fabric in a pot and poured on the dye) in a red/pink. It’s great. It has now joined my bags collection I like to take shopping or that help me organize my various knitting and sewing projects!

IMG_1298

Jungle theme – double swirl and matching booties

IMG_1302

Now this is what I mean about Candy’s vision and that of other dyers… I looked at the fabric in the dye and had serious reservations about the final outcome and yet when when it was rinsed and washed out… WOW I thought it was fabulous. So thanks Candy for another exciting morning playing with magic!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. candiedfabrics permalink*
    June 22, 2009 11:06 pm

    OOH! LOVE that jungle themed one!!!!! Fantastic Green! How did we do that??? Navy & Tangerine???

  2. bizzilizzi permalink*
    June 24, 2009 5:09 am

    Really can’t remember…sounds about right though… it was the darker blue not turquoise.
    Heather loved it – hope Amy does!

Leave a Reply

