Skip to content

Sandcastles, Mission Beach, San Diego

June 24, 2009

Matt and I went to visit my friend Teri for a short visit. It was great, her house is lovely, the beach was fab and I’d move there tomorrow! It was chilly this morning I had to wear a sweat shirt till lunch time… BLISS. The Inland Empire is really starting its summer warm up and sweat shirts are a thing of the past!

IMG_0893

Aren’t they great? It’s what summer holidays are all about – beach art. Perhaps the bird is admiring its handiwork! The castles drew lots of attention and were photographed by several people as I watched Matt on his boogie board.

No whales or dolphins, just gulls and pelicans and loads of people enjoying the sea and sunshine.

IMG_0891

Matt oblivious on his boogie board to some of the big waves yesterday. The surfers were having a great time as well as Matt!

IMG_0888

“The waves are great Mum!”

Today we went to look at a few antique shops.  Matt found them fascinating – toy cars, 50’s car magazines, memorabilia, and the Lionel train set… a mere $950 for the set. No fancy Bakelite buttons sadly, they were already made up into jewelry. Still it was fun. Matt and I went back to the beach and on our way back to the house I saw an Anna’s Humming Bird. I still think they are exotic and we’ve been here eleven years.

IMG_0953

And then I spotted the black and white bird of paradise plants. Oops, sorry Dad, I didn’t realize they got to about 12ft tall…

IMG_0959

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

