Skip to content

Inspired by Stephen Fry

July 13, 2009

For all of you that don’t know this amazing man he’s a British comedian, writer, and actor.

image

I’ve been watching the third series of Kingdom in which he is our hero. A compassionate, small town English solicitor who seems put upon by friends and family and always manages to resolve the problems he faces in each episode. In the series his car is an Alvis TE 21, – it looks a bit like a convertible Rolls Royce.

He is also the “host” of the U.K. TV show QI which is silly but fun – you’ll have to watch if for yourselves it’s too hard to explain. Recently he was the guest in the “reasonably priced car” in the U.K. programme Top Gear. He’s a changed man!

Gone was the portly, 50 yr old man to a slim almost youthful looking man with a bit of grey hair. He’d lost 6 stone (84 lb) in weight! Wow! I couldn’t believe it was the same guy and Jeremy Clarkson (the presenter) was taken aback! How and why had he done it?

Well he’d returned from filming in the States and was at his heaviest at 21 stone he told the audience. It had to go so he started walking listening to books on tape! He said think of all the books we’d never had a chance to read but were out there in the audio form (Clarkson pointed out that most kids in the U.K. have gone to bed with Stephen reading the English version of the Harry Potter stories) and so he started walking while  listening to them.

I was inspired. I don’t think I need to quite lose 84 lb just 56 lb would be enough but the two older men in my life could do with that weight loss and the small one 20 lbs would be good!

So here we are 7.30 am – I’m home from dropping Will at summer school and about 7.40 am Mei and I are walking about a mile listening to audio books. Its hard, I wont deny. I haven’t walked Mei regularly for about 18 months because of a bad knee. I find the arthritis in my knees objects to the walking but then it objects to my being over weight just as much!

We are into a the heat of summer so I try and stick to the leafy roads, look at the gardens and listen to Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, which I am enjoying. Mei has to keep up with me, no dawdling and sniffing every bush and I find my heart beat does increase! After a week its not quite so hard but it is exhausting! My knees are perhaps starting to feel a little better…perhaps that’s wishful thinking.

I’ve also tried to look at the food I and the rest of the family eat! THe veggie garden is producing loads of zucchini and the toms are starting to ripen. We have two butternut squash and 1 small pumpkin. I’m waiting for the peppers to ripen. It looks like we have yellow peppers and possibly green but I’m not sure about the other 2 colours. We had several gi-normous zucchini so I made a double batch of zucchini bread and a veggie bake and we have half left.

I can’t say that I’ve lost any weight yet. But I feel empowered by getting back into the swing of walking Mei in the mornings and I love listening to the audio book on my phone. Come on I challenge you to get up and walk and listen to those audio books. And if you’ve heard Jim Dale narrate Harry Potter which was very good give Stephen a try… We just loved his versions and I might re-listen to them when I’ve finished this book and hopefully I’ll start losing weight!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lyn permalink
    July 14, 2009 2:09 pm

    Hi Liz,

    I’ve been listening to Dr Who audiobooks while walking on the treadmill! And if you keep an eye on eBay and can be patient, you can get audiobooks much more cheaply than in the stores.

    And as far as the arthritis goes, I used to have terrible pain in the feet, even with special shoe insoles. I’ve lost 12kg (though have plateaud somewhat at the moment) and my feet are the best they’ve been for years.

    Good luck!

  2. bizzilizzi permalink*
    July 14, 2009 3:24 pm

    Congrats on losing the weight – I am hoping that the exercise will work. My sister is encouraging me to swim in our “Hockey” pool even if I find it chilly. Will’s been in two days running which is good. I’m encouraging Matt to swim as well as going to Taekwondo it should bump up his fitness. Its hard when its over 100f!

  3. candiedfabrics permalink*
    July 23, 2009 4:07 am

    yOUR POOL IS chilly? now??

    YAY FOR THE WALKING!

Leave a Reply

