Skip to content

New earrings

January 18, 2010

The January birthstone is garnet. I have several friends who are January babies so I thought I’d make some special earrings.Finished earrings

Vintage shell buttons and garnets with sterling silver ear wires

Just one pair left and a couple of birthdays to go so back to making.

While I was recuperating last week from jet lag and a hacking cough  I looked around Ebay and found these wonderful handmade sterling silver ear wires from Atlantic Glass & Bead. The artists behind the company are Valentin and Patricia Hernandez. Check out their web site… their beads look good enough to eat the colours are so pretty. They were selling a sample pack of 10 different shape ear wires for $29 plus tax and postage and packing – yes I sent off for them and another pair!.

IMG_2131

IMG_2134

The packaging is sealed, some ear wires are bigger than I thought but I’ll use them with some stunning buttons and go back for more. I love the big hoops and the spiral ear wire in the top photo has possibilities as well.

I guess a fun challenge would be to find birthstones for each month and incorporate them into button earrings.

In the mean time I have ideas for stud earrings… thanks to my sister Fiona and rings! I also have a couple of commission quilts to make by March…so its back to the sewing machine this week. I guess with the promised rain this week, that it will be fun to get one and make the quilts.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 10:55 am

    OO! Love Those spiral ones!

Leave a Reply

