Skip to content

Valentine’s Day is coming soon; a work in progress.

January 20, 2010

Every year I like to make a little heart for my boys, even though Matthew, the youngest, told me that he finds them embarrassing – I think its his age! Valentine’s Day is a “holiday” that we discovered in America when the boys went to school. As a child growing up in Britain, you waited for the postman to see  if someone had sent you a Valentine. As a kid we didn’t have Valentine parties at school giving out cards and candy. This holiday started me on a tradition of making little quilted valentine book marks or hearts, depending how I felt and how many children I was making them for!

At the Road to California quilt show this year my friend Anne found a pattern called “Woolen Hearts” from Plumcute Designs TM by Tracy Souza. The pattern is from 2006, 5 simple red hearts, approx 4 inches long, cut from red wool felt in slightly different shapes. Each one is decorated differently – with flowers, buttons, trims and one is fabric. They are appliquéd to a larger piece of black wool and then framed.

Anne and I were visiting the quilt show with our friend Amy who had flown down for the weekend from Olympia, WA. In view of Valentine’s Day being only four weeks away we thought it would be fun to do a heart swop. I opted for the buttons leaving the other two to decide what they wanted to do. My local quilt shop, The Calico Horse, carries wool felt so I bought a fat quarter of the dark red – I couldn’t wait for them to cut up another colour red sometime this week.

As much as I liked the randomly scattered buttons across one heart, I had an urge to experiment…This is how far I got-

IMG_2144

Red wool heart with plastic buttons and mixed red beads.

But I can’t leave it here. Will, my eldest son, said how cute the hearts looked and I thought it would be fun to take them to another stage and perhaps make a back, out of cream felt and sew on red buttons with white or silver beads, perhaps stuff the hearts from my bag of scrap pieces of batting (that I can’t throw away because they might be useful) and add some ribbon to hang them. I might blanket stitch the two sides together… and there you go. Three hearts for my boys for Valentine’s Day… sorry Matt, but its a tradition I’ve come to love and I might even make a couple for the February show in Redlands Art Association. Perhaps next year I might get together with Candy and dye some red wool felt for myself… now that sounds exciting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 10:07 am

    ASWESOME info, can’t wait till Valentines!

    • bizzilizzi permalink*
      February 2, 2010 11:23 am

      Thanks, I’ll post the photos when they are finished.

Leave a Reply

