Skip to content

Finished earrings

January 30, 2010

Friday is take in for the new show at the Redlands Art Association. Inspired by the idea of Valentine Day, amethysts as the February birthday stone, and some new ear wires I decided to make new earrings.

IMG_2198

Vintage shell buttons with Czech glass beds and amethyst nuggets

IMG_2180

Top left:shell hoops with vintage shell buttons & amethyst coloured Czech glass beads.

Top right: The amethyst nugget earrings

Bottom left: Rectangular shell frame with 4 stacked pearls inside and 1 on top, with glass beads and some new style earring wires from Atlantis Glass and Bead.

Bottom right:Rectangular shell frame with garnet drops and glass beads.

IMG_2200Glass hearts with flowers,vintage shell buttons, Czech glass beads, and glass beads.

Inspired by the different shaped earring wires from Atlantis Glass and Bead I found these wires in my local Joann and thought I would experiment with them as well.

IMG_2206

Double sided stone hearts (2 slightly different  sides) vintage buttons and glass beads.

So this is just a taster of some of the new button earrings I want to make. When I was recovering from jet lag and bronchitis (3 weeks ago) I cruised the internet looking for earring pads so I could make some stud style earrings for my sister. In the process I not only found the pads to make stud earrings but I also found a sample pack of different style ear wires from Atlantis Glass and Bead. The earring wires are hand made from sterling silver and polished. I am thrilled with the style and shape of the wires and have been itching to use them, even if they are more expensive than multipacks of basic ear wires (see previous post for a photo of their samples). I think will be reordering wires and using them more often.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 12:24 am

    THose rectangles with the buttons inside look really cool!

    • bizzilizzi permalink*
      January 31, 2010 9:01 am

      Thanks I thought they looked great and different!

    • bizzilizzi permalink*
      January 31, 2010 12:22 pm

      They are garnets in one of the sets
      4 stacked freshwater pearls in the other pair.
      sadly the buttons I had wouldn’t fit into the gap!

Leave a Reply

