Skip to content

Birthday girls

March 24, 2010

“American Rosie” and I share the same birthday. I think of Rosie and her grandmother, Janet, as my American family, along with a few other dear friends, and love them living round the corner. Back at the beginning of March, Janet and Rosie had a flannel stash clear out and offered me a pick of the fabrics. I’ve always loved the pink fairies and was surprised to see Rosie disposing of it along with her collection of butterfly fabrics. I took these and some others and promised to make something with them for Rosie. A week later I found the Flower Fairies fabric in Bluebird Quilts – a new quilt shop in Grand Terrace, CA. So I made a raggy throw. No batting, just a cotton top and flannel back (ideal for Spring, Summer and Fall in Southern California) and then tormented Rosie for the last week telling her I had a surprise birthday pressie.

American Rosie and her buttery quilt American Rosie with her quilt – the Rose Fairy is in the centre

the back

The back with more fairies and roses

It was a lovely to have breakfast with her, Janet, Jelly,  Bean (Rosie’s adorable daughters), Anne and Lydia. My boys… were at home it was going to be too girlie for them!

Jellie, bean (asleep) and me the other birthday girl

The other birthday girl enjoying being Auntie Lizzie to Jelly and Bean (oops we cut across nap time!)

I didn’t get a quilt this year… I asked for the 700,000 pounds sterling for the 7 bedroomed mansion in Wales, next door to my friend Fay. But Janet said not this year! Instead a Star Bucks card, a Sprinkles chocolate cup cake and a flowering plant…Thanks guys, no guilt trip for Star Bucks for a few weeks. Anne and Lydia gave me an heirloom Zebra Tomato plant… can’t wait to see what that’ll be like.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

