Skip to content

Ummm… zucchini bread

June 13, 2010

When we first came to America I was confused by Italian squash and zucchini, I was looking everywhere for courgettes. Finally the penny dropped and I realized zucchini and Italian squash were courgettes!

I love growing them, they take so little effort and make such a brilliant veggie. But one of my favourite recipes is zucchini bread. I found it on the internet and after tweaking the ingredients its become a family favourite.

I am determined to try an encourage Matt to expand his interest in food (very limited) so I encouraged him to come and help me!

So here is the recipe for my zucchini bread….

1 cup of vegetable oil

2 eggs

3 teaspoons of vanilla essence (I like the organic ones they seem stronger)

2 cups of grated zucchini ( usually very generous to use up lots of zuc’)

1 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1/2 teaspoon of baking power

3 cups of flour

2 cups of brown sugar (I like the dark colour in the bread)

3 teaspoons of mixed spice (this is English, found in all our supermarkets but I’ve never found it here)

(If I have no mixed spice I used 3 teaspoons of cinnamon

& a teaspoon of nutmeg)

1/2 cup of chopped walnuts (never measured just add what I like because I love the texture in the bread)

1 cup of raisins ( again never measured cos I love raisins)

Method

in a large bowl beat the eggs until light and frothy

Mix in the oil and sugar ( Matt did this and said they made a great colour)

Stir in zucchini and vanilla

Combine the flour, spices, baking soda & power, salt, nuts and raisins and stir or fold in.

Divide the batter into prepared pans.

I tend to line a bread loaf tin with grease proof or wax paper – very lazy but works.

Bake for 1hr or until done at 350f, I like to use the middle shelf.

IMG_1766

Um so hard to wait for them to finish cooking… just a few minutes more!

We always have so much zucchini by the time I make this that I make a double batch which makes 2 huge loaf tins…

IMG_1769

Leave to cool for as long as you can resist it and then cut and enjoy with hot tea (English style) or coffee… Hopefully this will last us several days and Will can take a “chunk” with his for a snack to summer school.

I have been known to make it in muffin or cup cake tins but this more work!

Enjoy.

IMG_1770

It was totally delicious and I could have eaten more, Fay! The smell was heavenly and it was still warm at this point. Sadly I couldn’t persuade Matt to try it.

IMG_1765

Matt kneading bread for the first time

IMG_1773

French bread by Matt with some kneading help from Mum! The “Halloween Rolls” with scary faces, have chocolate cooking drops in them – Matt’s choice. His verdict they were as nice as the chocolate scones I make! The plain bread and rolls were delicious!

P.S.

Geraint took the lawn mower apart and fiddled with it for a while and was able to cut the lawn – Yeah!

The plants I transplanted survived the night, look lush and green and seem to be thriving now need to finish the rest in the cool of the day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fay Cori permalink
    June 14, 2010 2:46 pm

    big thanks Lizzie for the recipe. I almost could smell those loaves off the screen. I notice that (wisely) you don’t mention spreading butter on the slices – or are you just keeping quiet about that? i will let you know how my efforts work out. love Fay in Wales.

    • bizzilizzi permalink*
      June 14, 2010 4:09 pm

      I’m good I don’t put butter on it just eat it “raw” but I love it with a cuppa.

Leave a Reply

